Grading Scale


Grade Scale and Grade Point Average
Letter grades are assigned to a student in accordance with the percentage of total possible points he or she has earned in a class. Letter grades are "A" through "F" and are awarded on the basis of a modified grade scale.  Kapaun Mt. Carmel's grade scale is depicted below.

Each letter grade has associated with it a defined number of grade points, with classes designated as Honors having available a higher number of grade points than those that are available in non-Honors classes, and AP classes having available a higher number of grade points than those available in Honors classes.  The grade point average, or GPA, is calculated as the quotient of Total grade points/Total potential points.  

The grade scale is as follows: 

%age Grade Non-Honors Honors AP with AP Test* 
92 - 100 A 4.0 4.5 5.0
90 - 91 B+ 3.5 4.0 4.5
83 - 89 B 3.0 3.5 4.0

81 - 82

C+ 2.5 2.75 2.75
74 - 80 C 2.0 2.5 2.5
65 - 73 D 1.0 1.0 1.0
0 - 64 F 0.0 0.0 0.0


Because even an "A" in a non-Honors class could lower a student's overall GPA, students who are attempting to be Valedictorian or Salutatorian or to rank in the top 10% of the class by their senior year should take the most rigorous curriculum possible and earn the highest grades possible.

*AP Calculus I and AP Calculus II are exceptions to the AP test requirement for the additional .5 weight. A student who takes either or both of these classes will receive the additional .5 weight if the student maintains a grade of "B" or better.  As a consequence of this exception, no distinction will be made on the student's transcript for taking or not taking the AP exam in these classes.